Jesus Saves, Just Not Us

24 10 2010

Oy.

As we drove around Dayton gathering provisions, Henthorn said he has guided four citizens groups to Washington for rallies. “A lot of these people,” he said, “have never been to Washington before. I teach them a little bit about riding the Metro, about how to stay safe. They’re apprehensive about who they’re going to encounter—the SEIU [Service Employees International Union], the Black Panthers or what have you. I’ve encountered those people before. To me, it’s no big deal. I’ve lived in 11 foreign countries. Islamic extremists killed one of my deputies at his desk in Istanbul. I’ve had a bounty on my own head. I know what it’s like to be a hunted man.”

Henthorn spent most of his career in the Air Force’s “services” division. He ran mess halls, golf courses and gyms, and administrated over winding roads past bunkers and airstrips. He learned to focus on the safety and well-being of others. When we came across a motorcyclist wearing a flimsy T-shirt, Henthorn was disapproving. “I’ve scraped enough accidents off the highway to know that that guy ought to be wearing leather,” he said.

By his own reckoning, Henthorn is a “born leader.” On the bus, he announces, “I am running for U.S. Senate in 2012.”

There is a joyous burst of applause. People holler “Oh, yes!” and “Yee ha!” Then Henthorn continues. “And you may or may not think I’m crazy,” he says, “but five months ago, I got woken up in the middle of the night. The good Lord woke me up when I was sound asleep, folks, and he said, ‘You’re running for office.’ And I said no, and he said yes. We argued for three weeks, folks. Then I said, ‘Okay, I’ll run for township.’ And then we had another two-week fight, over what I was gonna run for. And, finally, we were up to senator or president.”

There’s a soft awestruck murmur from the back of the bus: “Wow!”

Sometimes it seems like the entire country has gone crazy all at once.

(via)

—Jason

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

